Tuesday, 29 July 2014

Review: Fairy Luck by J.L. Bryan + Giveaway


Title: Fairy Luck
Author: J.L. Bryan
Author Info: Website|Blog|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Fantasy
Series: Songs of Magic #6
Source: Author
Publication Date: 25th July 2015

Tell Me About It
While the Zebras reel from the loss of Erin, Erin herself makes some troubling discovering while connecting with her ancestors.

In Faerie, Aoide and her troupe seem to finally be enjoying their big break...but danger is on the way, and nothing is ever what it seems when you're dealing with leprechauns and the treacherous Queen Mab.

Review: Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater


Title: Sinner
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Author Info: Website|Blog|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Fantasy
Series: The wolves of Mercy Falls #3.5
Source: Publisher
Publisher: Scholastic
Publication Date: 3rd July 2014

Tell Me About It
A standalone companion book to the internationally bestselling Shiver Trilogy.

Sinner follows Cole St. Clair, a pivotal character from the #1 New York Times bestselling Shiver Trilogy. Everybody thinks they know Cole's story. Stardom. Addiction. Downfall. Disappearance. But only a few people know Cole's darkest secret -- his ability to shift into a wolf. One of these people is Isabel. At one point, they may have even loved each other. But that feels like a lifetime ago. Now Cole is back. Back in the spotlight. Back in the danger zone. Back in Isabel's life. Can this sinner be saved?

Monday, 28 July 2014

Blog Tour: What Would Mary Berry Do? by Claire Sandy [review]


Title: What Would Mary Berry Do?
Author: Claire Sandy
Genre: Chick Lit
Source: Publisher
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Publication Date: 31st July 2014

Tell Me About It
For fans of The Great British Bake Off, this is a story about family life, unfriendly rivalry and flat Victoria sponges.

Marie Dunwoody doesn't want for much in life. She has a lovely husband, three wonderful children, and a business of her own. Except, her cupcakes are crap. Her meringues are runny and her biscuits rock-hard. She cannot bake for toffee. Or, for that matter, make toffee.

Marie can't ignore the disappointed looks any more, or continue to be shamed by neighbour and nemesis, Lucy Gray. Lucy whips up perfect profiteroles with one hand, while ironing her bed sheets with the other. Marie's had enough: this is the year it all changes. She vows to follow - to the letter - recipes from the Queen of Baking and at all times ask 'What would Mary Berry do?'

Husband Robert has noticed that his boss takes crumb structure as seriously as budget sheets and so puts on the pinny: serious redundancies are on the horizon. Twins Rose and Iris are happy to eat all the half-baked mistakes that come their way, but big brother Angus is more distant than usual, as if something is troubling him. And there is no one as nosey as a matching pair of nine-year-old girls . . .

Marie starts to realise that the wise words of Mary Berry can help her with more than just a Victoria Sponge. But can Robert save the wobbling soufflé that is his career? And is Lucy's sweet demeanour hiding something secretly sour?

This is a delicious feast of a funny novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan and Allison Pearson.

*** This is a work of fiction, in no way endorsed by Mary Berry, and where neither Mary Berry herself nor her recipes feature. ***

Book Wars! Black Heart by Holly Black (45)

Book Wars a weekly feature hosted between two book review blogs – A Life Bound By Books & Much Loved Books!

It’s a fact that book lovers know all about the covers of the books they covet. Often when a title is released here in the UK, it’s sometimes vastly different across the pond in the US.  So, Lisa from A Life Bound By Books and I have come together to create Book Wars to talk about the difference in covers when it comes to the US vs. UK versions. We hope from time to time authors will chime in with their thoughts as well. We welcome everyone to comment and share their thoughts too! The more the merrier!

Before we get to this weeks Book Wars, we have a winner to announce. The Book Wars winner for Insurgent by Veronica Roth is...USA!!!!!!
Thank you to everyone who voted for both books, and for picking a winner.

Also, there's a poll at the bottom of the post that we'd love to hear your input for the two covers! Tell us which one YOU love the most. 

Left: US - Right: UK
Title: Black Heart
Author: Holly Black
Publisher:
US - Margaret K. McElderry Books , 296 Pages, (April 3rd 2012),
UK - Gollancz , 296 Pages, (April 19th 2012)
Add to Goodreads: USA Version | UK Version
Order online here:
USA: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The Book Depository
UK: Amazon UKWaterstones, The Book Depository

Synopsis:
Cassel Sharpe knows he's been used as an assassin, but he's trying to put all that behind him. He's trying to be good, even though he grew up in a family of con artists and cheating comes as easily as breathing to him. He's trying to do the right thing, even though the girl he loves is inextricably connected with crime. And he's trying to convince himself that working for the Feds is smart, even though he's been raised to believe the government is the enemy. But with a mother on the lam, the girl he loves about to take her place in the Mob, and new secrets coming to light, the line between what's right and what's wrong becomes increasingly blurred. When the Feds ask Cassel to do the one thing he said he would never do again, he needs to sort out what's a con and what's truth. In a dangerous game and with his life on the line, Cassel may have to make his biggest gamble yet - this time on love.

About Holly:
Holly Black is a best-selling author of contemporary fantasy novels for kids, teens, and adults. Tithe, Valiant, and Ironside), The Spiderwick Chronicles (with Tony DiTerlizzi), and The Good Neighbors graphic novels (with Ted Naifeh) The Poison Eaters and Other Stories, a collection of short fiction, and The Curse Worker series (White Cat, Red Glove, and Black Heart). She is also the co-editor of three anthologies, Geektastic (with Cecil Castellucci), Zombies vs. Unicorns (with Justine Larbalestier), and Welcome to Bordertown (with Ellen Kushner). Her most recent works are the middle grade novel, Doll Bones, and the dark fantasy stand-alone, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown.
She is the author of the Modern Faerie Tale series (

She lives in Massachusetts with her husband, Theo, in a house with a secret library.

Find Holly Online:
Website | JournalTwitter | Facebook

Let the Wars Begin:
Its now time to make our decision, let's see what we think about the covers and pick our favourite cover.
Lisa
So, this week we have two VERY different covers. I wasn't a fan when they changed the US covers to this new style. I liked the direction the original covers were going.

The UK cover is dark and kind of twisted and I love it! I'd like to see what these look like in person.

My vote for this week goes to the UK cover in all it's dark glory.
Michelle
I do like the new covers for the USA editions, but my vote goes to UK for this week.
I love the effects of the UK editions, the background effects, and the black heart is perfect for this book, in a creepy kind of way.
It's a UK win for me this week.

VOTE for YOUR favourite cover of Black Heart by Holly Black NOW!

Sunday, 27 July 2014

Giant Spectacular

I interrupt your regular scheduled posts with this one. Book haul wise has been a quiet week, so I am postponing it till next week, however yesterday I went to the City Centre to see the Giants

Giant Spectacular came to Liverpool two years ago, I foolishly decided not to go as it wasn't something I was interested in, once I saw the pictures and videos I wish I had gone. So when I found out they were coming back I knew I HAD to go and see them, even if it was for only one day.

Sun cream applied, lots of water, and cool clothing, I mad my way to Liverpool City Centre to see Grandmother, Mae, and Xolo. I met my sister, Niece, Nephew, their Dad and their other Nan in town, and after some wondering we finally made our way to where we thought all of the giants would travel. We only ended up seeing Mae and Xolo, and the Grandmother from the top of the road as she passed by.

It was a great experience and I am so glad I got to go and see them. Below are just a few of the photo's I took.





Friday, 25 July 2014

Cover Reveal: Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton and Giveaway


M9B-Friday-Reveal
Welcome to the Cover Reveal for

Fire in the Woods by Jennifer M. Eaton

presented by Month9Books!
Be sure to enter the giveaway found at the end of the post!
FireInTheWoods.v6-Book1-Final
When a plane crashes in the woods near Jess’s home, the boy of her dreams falls out of the sky—literally. But David’s not here to find a girlfriend. He’s from another planet, and if Jess can’t help him get back to his ship, he’ll be stuck on Earth with nothing to look forward to but the pointy end of a dissection scalpel.
But her father runs their house like an army barracks, and with an alien on the loose, Major Dad isn’t too keen on the idea of Jess going anywhere. Ever. So how the heck is she supposed to help the sweetest, strangest, and cutest guy she’s ever met?
Hiding him in her room probably isn’t the best idea. Especially since her Dad is in charge of the squadron searching for David. That doesn’t mean she won’t do it. It just means she can't get caught.
Helping David get home while protecting her heart—that’s gonna be the hard part. After all, she can't really fall for a guy who’s not exactly from here.
As they race through the woods with Major Dad and most of the U.S. military one breath behind them, Jess and David grow closer than either of them anticipated. But all is not what it seems. David has a genocide-sized secret, and one betrayal later, they are both in handcuffs as alien warships are positioning themselves around the globe. Time is ticking down to Armageddon, and Jess must think fast if she's to save the boy she cares about without sacrificing Earth—and everyone on it.
add to goodreads
Title: Fire in the Woods
Publication date: September 2014
Publisher: Month9Books, LLC.
Author: Jennifer M. Eaton
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---About-the-Author
Jennifer M. EatonCorporate Team Leader by day, and Ranting Writer by night. Jennifer M. Eaton calls the East Coast of the USA home, where she lives with her husband, three energetic boys, and a pepped up poodle.
Jennifer hosts an informational blog “A Reference of Writing Rants for Writers (or Learn from My Mistakes)” aimed at helping all writers be the best they can be.
Beyond writing and motivating others, she also enjoys teaching her dog to jump through hoops—literally.
Jennifer’s perfect day includes long hikes in the woods, bicycling, swimming, snorkeling, and snuggling up by the fire with a great book; but her greatest joy is using her over-active imagination constructively… creating new worlds for everyone to enjoy.
Connect with the Author: Website | Twitter | Facebook | Goodreads
Chapter-by-Chapter-header---Giveaway
Complete the Rafflecopter below for a chance to win!
(Winners will receive their book on release day)


Button
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...