Sunday, 24 September 2017

The Sunday Post


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, to recap the past week on my blog, showcase books and things I have received.

Tuesday, 12 September 2017

Series Review: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins


The Anna and the French Kiss series has been on my TBR for several years now, so many years that I picked up the US editions before they were published here in the UK (for matchability reasons I'm using all UK covers for my image) I picked up Isla upon release and still they sat, waiting to be read.
With a holiday from work and a break from the blog to find my reading mojo I decided to pick these books up, and over the span of 48 hours I demolished them all. Each book is based around a different couple, as well as a different city, with the occasional overlapping.

Anna and the French Kiss is the first in the series and I love how cute this book was. Anna is an american, attending an american school in Paris, thanks to her father wanting to show off to his superstar friends. Anna feels alone and left out until she makes friends with a close knit group of people, and ends up falling in love with √Čtienne St. Clair, who is already in a relationship with someone else. I absolutely loved the setting of Paris for this one. The descriptions of all the places, the scenery, the people, were breathtaking and really made me want to be there. I enjoyed the pacing of the book and also how it wasn't all 'nice'. We got to see the real characters, the good and the bad parts of friendships and relationships, even the not so nice parenting styles. Within the first few pages I was hooked and I knew there would be no stopping me once I started with this series.

Lola and the Boy Next Door takes us to San Francisco, where Lola is shocked to find her ex neighbours are back for good, bringing the Bell twins, Calliope and Cricket, with them, who Lola had an unsettling friendship with. I LOVE Lola's personality, her dress sense, and how laid back she is. Her Dad's not only encouraged her to express herself creatively in this way, but also have a yummy baking business. I really admire Lola for her belief in herself, no matter what comments are thrown her way, and although she may not be Miss Popular, she certainly stands out in a crowd. Her relationship with her boyfriend wasn't really ideal, and honestly not the best for her, but it also makes her see what she can have if she opened her heart.
I loved the cameos from Anna and √Čtienne, and how they become close friends with Anna offering words of advice, as well as hilarious work colleagues.

Isla and the Happily Ever After sees another couple who are familiar to us, Isla and Josh. This couple didn't have the best start, and their friendship is definitely a rocky one with a lot of bad choices and decisions made. I felt this book was the gritty book, the one were the couple HAD to work hard for what they wanted in every aspect of their lives. Their journey may have been pleasant to view, but it wasn't an easy one to take. Isla and Josh have to really work to make it, as well as not being afraid to take a step back if it's desperately needed, for breathing room and time to really think things through.

Once again I LOVED catching up with the previous characters, as well as see part of the story line overlap. The last few chapters were really special and I may have shed a tear or two over it.

Final Verdict
Those who have yet to read this series really need to get a move on. Not only were they the catalyst to finding my book mojo again, but I fell in love with every single things about these books and I really didn't want them to end.
To find out more about these books, the series can be found on goodreads here, and the author Stephanie Perkins here.

Sunday, 10 September 2017

The Sunday Post


The Sunday Post is a weekly meme hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer. It’s a chance to share news, to recap the past week on my blog, showcase books and things I have received.

Tuesday, 5 September 2017

Mini Review: The Grotlyn by Benji Davies


Title: The Grotlyn
Author: Benji Davies
Author Info: Website|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Children's, Mystery
Source: Publisher
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books
Publication Date: 7th September 2017
Rating: 4 stars

Tell Me About It
A stunningly illustrated picture book full of mystery and suspense, from the bestselling author of THE STORM WHALE and GRANDAD’S ISLAND.
I know when the Grotlyn’s been
Slipping through your house unseen

What is the mysterious Grotlyn? What sort of creature could it be, scuttling across the town, frightening everyone in its path? And why has it stolen PC Vickers’ knickers?!

A beautifully illustrated rhyming tale about things that go bump in the night for ages four and up, from picture book superstar, Benji Davies, winner of Oscar’s First Book Prize 2014 and Sainsbury’s Children’s Book of the Year 2015. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers and Jon Klassen

Sunday, 3 September 2017

Book Review: Two Sisters by Kerry Wilkinson


Title: Two Sisters
Author: Kerry Wilkinson
Author Info: Website|Facebook|Twitter|Instagram
Genre: Thriller
Source: NetGalley
Publisher: Bookouture
Publication Date: 23rd June 2017
Rating: 4 stars

Tell Me About It
They told us he had been missing for nearly two days, that he probably drowned. They told us a lie.

Megan was ten years old when her older brother, Zac, went missing among the cliffs, caves and beaches that surround the small seaside town of Whitecliff.

A decade later and a car crash has claimed the lives of her parents.

Megan and her younger sister Chloe return to Whitecliff one summer for the first time since their brother’s disappearance. Megan says it’s to get her parents’ affairs in order. There are boxes to pack, junk to clear, a rundown cottage to sell. But that’s not the real reason.

Megan has come to confront her family’s past after receiving a postcard on the day of her parents’ funeral. It had a photograph of Whitecliff on the front and a single letter on the back.

‘Z’ is all it read.

Z for Zac.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...