Thursday, 10 October 2013

Review: Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelly Coriell


Title: Goodbye, Rebel Blue
Author: Shelly Coriell
Author Info: Website|Blog|Twitter|Facebook
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Publisher
Publication Date: 1st October 2013

Tell Me About It
Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.
My Thoughts
When I saw Goodbye, Rebel Blue and read the synopsis I knew I had to read it, and when I discovered the author was Shelly Coriell there was no question about it. I NEEDED to read it. Rebecca Blue lives with Uncle, Aunt and Cousin after her mum has died.  Her cousin is an excellent student, and Rebecca is expected to follow in her  footsteps, her Aunt has ridiculously high expectations of Rebecca, and it's not acceptable to get anything less than A in classes.
Goodbye, Rebel Blue is the title for Rebecca's bucket list, that she has to do for her detention. This is also where she meets Kennedy Green.  When the news that Kennedy has died reaches Rebecca, and after several failed attempts to get rid of it, Rebecca makes it her mission to complete Kennedy's bucket list.

Goodbye, Rebel Blue was not what I expected, in fact it was more than I expected.  There is so much attention focused on Rebecca, but I also like how we get to see this affecting others.  How her attitude disrupts her life with her Aunt and Uncle, how it affects the people around her.  But we also get to see a different side to Rebecca, especially towards her friends, and as Rebecca completes Kennedy's bucket list we get to see this nicer, calmer side more often.  She helps Nate in a club that helps save wildlife, helps her friend make pies (which sound absolutely mouthwatering)
The bucket list has some impossible tasks to complete, and I liked how ingenious Rebecca was in trying to find an alternative to cross an item off. Along the journey Rebecca makes friends, finds love, and starts to see the real Rebecca behind the fa├žade.  We see why she acts the way she does and get a look into her feeling.

Rebecca has a unique personality that shone through the pages of Goodbye, Rebel Blue, and while she didn't start off as the most perfect person, she finds the real reason for her delinquency and her attitude, and comes to terms with it in her own way, making peace where she can. She finds out that people do care about her and that she isn't alone as what she thought she was. The last few chapters were a perfect ending for Goodbye, Rebel Blue and I loved getting to see the end of it all and what happened once the bucket list was complete.

Goodbye, Rebel Blue is about finding yourself among the past and the parts of you that you buried deep inside and tried to forget. About being yourself, life your life for yourself and not for others.  I loved every single page of Goodbye, Rebel Blue and I can't wait to see what else Shelly has up her sleeves.

1 comment:

  1. Yay so glad you loved this, I really enjoyed it too. Shelley is now firmly on my list of must have authors as I really loved Welcome Caller also.

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...