Thursday, 10 April 2014

Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith


Title: The Geography of You and Me
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Netgalley
Publisher: Headline
Publication Date: 15th April 2014

Tell Me About It
For fans of John Green, Stephanie Perkins and Sarah Ockler, THE GEOGRAPHY OF YOU AND ME is a story for anyone who's ever longed to meet someone special, for anyone who's searched for home and found it where they least expected it.


Owen lives in the basement. Lucy lives on the 24th floor. But when the power goes out in the midst of a New York heatwave, they find themselves together for the first time: stuck in a lift between the 10th and 11th floors. As they await help, they start talking...


The brief time they spend together leaves a mark. And as their lives take them to Edinburgh and San Francisco, to Prague and to Portland they can't shake the memory of the time they shared. Postcards cross the globe when they themselves can't, as Owen and Lucy experience the joy - and pain - of first love.


And as they make their separate journeys in search of home, they discover that sometimes it is a person rather than a place that anchors you most in the world.
My Thoughts
I am a big fan of Jennifer so when I saw The Geography of You and Me on netgalley there was no question about it, I HAD to read this book. The Geography of You and Me was a quick read, and it took me no time at all to finish this. Now, after finishing the book, and looking at the cover again, I can see how relevant it is and thought it was a nice touch/

The Geography of You and Me is told from two points of view, Owen, and Lucy. Owen lives with his Dad, who is the new Building Manager after the death of his Mum, and Lucy lives in the building, with her Parents and has two brothers who are in college. This duo meet up in an unlikely power outage, that plungers New York into total darkness, and also cause the elevator they are in to stop in between floors. To ease the tension a conversation is struck up, and what follows is an unlikely friendship that will soon span not only across America, but also across the ocean to Scotland.

Owen and Lucy don't exactly have it easy in regards to maintaining the tentative friendship they made in New York, with only postcards and the occasional email to fill the spaces. It was a slow and torturous friendship that I wish could have made a stronger base before they went their separate ways, but then I don't think it would have been as fragile or as sweet, with each small gesture meaning that much more, but this just made the reunion that much more special.

This duo are not perfect, nor do they come from perfect homes, but this only adds to the realism of their situation, it also made Lucy and Owen more easy to relate to and feel sympathy for. I really liked how we got to see both sides to the story, and even when others come into the picture, the other person is a constant shadow in the background. The ending wasn't what I expected, but it still ends in a way that fits perfectly with the story and the progress made.

Jennifer has managed to weave a tale of friendship, love, and impossible things, into a story that really captivates you.

About Jennifer
Jennifer E. Smith is the author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, The Storm Makers, You Are Here, and The Comeback Season. She earned her master's degree in creative writing from the University of St. Andrews in Scotland, and currently works as an editor in New York City. Her writing has been translated into 28 languages.

Website - Twitter

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...