Thursday, 26 June 2014

Review: Sleep No More by Aprilynne Pike


Title: Sleep No More
Author: Aprilynne Pike
Author Info: Website|Blog|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Publisher
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books
Publication Date: 8th May 2014

Tell Me About It
'Inception' meets 'The Body Finder' in this dark thriller from No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike - perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel and Kimberly Derting. Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. Not that it does her much good. Instead of using their miraculous powers, Oracles are told to fight their visions - to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows too well the terrible price of breaking the rules. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything - even her sanity - to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.
My Thoughts
I am a big fan of Aprilynne's books, so when I saw that she had written another book I knew I had to read it. Sleep No More is nothing like the previous books of Aprilynne's, but it sounds like an ideal book for me.

Sleep No More doesn't hesitate, and we are thrown straight into the action, seeing Charlotte experience a vision, seeing what she does at the exact same time. Charlotte is an Oracle, but what she sees can't be used to help stop the event, it only ends up twisting it and hurting someone else, which Charlotte has learnt first hand. This secret has to be kept from her Mum, and Charlotte's Aunt is the only person who she can talk to.
I felt sorry for Charlotte, having this gift and being unable to do anything about it, seeing the future of others and not being allowed to help. I think her Aunt didn't really want to help Charlotte initially, she just really gave her coping mechanisms and brushed her off, giving her the 'when you're older' speech, thus making Charlotte feel even more alone and 'not normal'.

Sleep No More is told in first person narrative, enabling us to be drawn right into the action, experiencing it with Charlotte, and feeling like you are experiencing it for yourself. I love how parts of it were unpredictable, that you can be reading what is happening then suddenly find yourself stopping and wondering what happened, how did it go from one thing to another.
Sleep No More was a truly addictive read that I could not read fast enough. I enjoyed the concept behind the story, the supernatural plane, and the seeing the future aspect. It was a perfect blend of paranormal, mystery, thriller, that even put nervous butterflies in my stomach. Anyone who is a fan of Aprilynne's previous books HAS to read this one.


Purchase Links: Amazon USA|Amazon UK

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...