Friday, 31 October 2014

Blog Tour: The Bodies We Wear by Jeyn Roberts [review + giveaway US/CAN]


Title: The Bodies We Wear
Author: Jeyn Roberts
Author Info: Blog|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Purchased by myself
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: 23rd September 2014

Tell Me About It
A streetwise girl trains to take on a gang of drug dealers and avenge her best friend’s death in this thriller for fans of Scott Westerfeld and Robin Wasserman.

People say when you take Heam, your body momentarily dies and you catch a glimpse of heaven. Faye was only eleven when dealers forced Heam on her and her best friend, Christian. But Faye didn’t glimpse heaven—she saw hell. And Christian died.

Now Faye spends her days hiding her secret from the kids at school, and her nights training to take revenge on the men who destroyed her life and murdered her best friend. But life never goes the way we think it will. When a mysterious young man named Chael appears, Faye's plan suddenly gets a lot more complicated. Chael seems to know everything about her, including her past. But too many secrets start tearing her world apart: trouble at school, with the police, and with the people she thought might be her friends. Even Gazer, her guardian, fears she's become too obsessed with vengeance. Love and death. Will Faye overcome her desires, or will her quest for revenge consume her?

My Thoughts
I am a huge fan of Jeyn's previous work, so when the opportunity came up to be part of the blog tour for The Bodies We Wear there was no hesitation about replying with a 'yes please'.

Heavens Dream (Heam) is a dangerous drug that affects the brain and the spinal cord. Whoever takes it literally dies for up to ten minutes, before their body 'reboots' itself and comes back alive. Faye, the protagonist, is out to get revenge on Rufus and his gang after they forced Faye and her friend to take Heam, while she survived, her friend didn't, and from that point on Faye has been determined to hunt them down. Gazer is person who is looking out for her, trains her, and is the adult supervision that reins her in and also tries to instil a rightness to what she does each day, encouraging her to live her life to the fullest she is allowed to do. Chael is someone who we meat quite early on in the book, and is a mystery stranger who is a thorn in Faye's side. I honestly did not know what he wanted or why he bugged Faye, and it wasn't until further into the book that his identity is revealed.

The Bodies We Wear is a book that is full of a lot of emotional turmoil. but also brings a lot of 'life lessons' along with it. We see the protagonist deal with loss, finding a family again, we see her consumed with a hatred and a very intense desire for revenge against those who wronged her. There is also a lot of discrimination against Heam abusers, and sadly Faye is thrown amongst these people even though she was not responsible for her participation.

The Bodies We Wear was a book that really drew me in on many levels, and having the book told in a first person point of view made it easier to sympathise with Faye's and really get to see where her feelings come from. There were moments in the book that I really did not know what would happen next, if Faye would survive, or would she carry out whatever plan she had in mind. The Bodies We Wear was an intense read, but one that also makes you think, would you be so quick to judge if you lived in the world that Faye lives in, would you be as strong as her, as tough or as resilient?

As you can see my review is vague and doesn't give much away. How would YOU like to see what happens within the pages of The Bodies We Wear. The fabulous people at Random House Children's Books are giving me TWO books to giveaway. Since they are coming straight from the publisher this is a US/CAN giveaway only, so please make sure you have a US/CAN address to receive the book.
To be in with a chance to win just enter the rafflecopter giveaway below.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:


  1. WOW - I was just browsing through & stumbled upon your lovely blog - It looks gorgeous and it has interesting posts that I can relate to! - Def. checking out these new reads! I'm now following you via gfc, Hope you check out my blog? keep in touch love x

    Benish | Feminist Reflections
    A Thousand Pieces of You Hardcover Giveaway

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...