Monday, 15 June 2015

Book Wars! I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson (86)


Book Wars a weekly feature hosted between two book review blogs – A Life Bound By Books & Much Loved Books!


It’s a fact that book lovers know all about the covers of the books they covet.  Often when a title is released here in the US, it’s sometimes vastly different across the pond in the US.  So, Lisa from A Life Bound By Books and I have come together to create Book Wars to talk about the difference in covers when it comes to the US vs. UK versions.
We hope from time to time authors will chime in with their thoughts as well. We welcome everyone to comment and share their thoughts too! The more the merrier!

Before we get to this weeks Book Wars, we have a winner to announce. The Book Wars winner for Fire & Flood by Victoria Scott is..... the UK COVER!!!  Thank you to everyone who voted for both books, and for picking a winner.

Also, there's a poll at the bottom of the post that we'd love to hear your input for the two covers! Tell us which one YOU love the most.


Left: US - Right: UK

Title: I'll Give You the Sun
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher:
US - Dial Books, 371 Pages (September 16, 2014)
UK - Walker Books, 416 Pages (April 2nd, 2015)
Add to: Goodreads USA Version | Goodreads UK Version
Order online here:
USA: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The Book Depository
UK: Amazon UK, Waterstones, W H Smith, The Book Depository

Synopsis:
A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.

About the author: 
Jandy Nelson, like her characters in I’ll Give You the Sun and The Sky is Everywhere, comes from a superstitious lot. She was tutored from a young age in the art of the four-leaf clover hunt; she knocks wood, throws salt, and carries charms in her pockets. Her critically-acclaimed, New York Times bestselling second novel, I’ll Give You the Sun, received the prestigious Printz Award, Bank Street's Josette Frank Award, and is a Stonewall Book Award honor. Both Sun and her debut, The Sky Is Everywhere, have been YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults picks (Sun, a Top Ten on Both YALSA and Rainbow Lists) and on multiple best of the year lists including the New York Times, Time Magazine, NPR, have earned many starred reviews, and continue to enjoy great international success, collectively published in over 47 countries. I'll Give You the Sun has been sold to Warner Brothers and screenwriter Natalie Krinsky is currently writing the adaptation. Jandy, a literary agent for many years, received a BA from Cornell University and MFAs in Poetry and Children's Writing from Brown University and Vermont College of Fine Arts. Currently a full-time writer, she lives and writes in San Francisco, California—not far from the settings of her novels. Visit Jandy at www.jandynelson.com. Follow her on twitter: @jandynelson or Facebook: Facebook.com/jandy.nelson. Author photo credit: Sonya Sones.

Find  Online: WebsiteTwitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Let the Wars Begin:
Its now time to make our decision, let's see what we think about the covers and pick our favorite cover.
Lisa
Sometimes a simple cover is all you need. And these are some of the most simple as they come. Though, I kind of love them both. I love how the "sun" is depicted in both. The US cover is done a bit more artistic and then the UK is a bit more literal.

I think that this week the US cover gets my vote and this is because it just fits better for me. It's not as playful, and with Jandy's stories they tend to have a bit more serious tone than not... so the US cover as I said above, just kind of fits better for my choice and gets my vote this week. And now it's up to you to tell us which one will win YOUR vote for this week?? Oh and check out my review of The Sky is Everywhere By: Jandy Nelson!!!
Michelle
This week is an easy choice for me. I owned a copy of this book before I got a review copy of the UK edition, and while I do like the UK cover, its a US vote for me this week.

I love how simple, yet colourful the design is, it's eye catching and really makes you want to pick it up to find out more.

My vote this week goes to US, who gets your vote?

VOTE for YOUR favorite cover of I'll Give You the Sun NOW!






No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...