Monday, 1 June 2015

Book Wars! The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson (84)


Book Wars a weekly feature hosted between two book review blogs – A Life Bound By Books & Much Loved Books!


It’s a fact that book lovers know all about the covers of the books they covet.  Often when a title is released here in the US, it’s sometimes vastly different across the pond in the US.  So, Lisa from A Life Bound By Books and I have come together to create Book Wars to talk about the difference in covers when it comes to the US vs. UK versions.

We hope from time to time authors will chime in with their thoughts as well. We welcome everyone to comment and share their thoughts too! The more the merrier!

Before we get to this weeks Book Wars, we have a winner to announce. The Book Wars winner for Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider is..... the UK COVER!!!  Thank you to everyone who voted for both books, and for picking a winner.

Also, there's a poll at the bottom of the post that we'd love to hear your input for the two covers! Tell us which one YOU love the most.


Left: US - Right: UK

Title: The Sky is Everywhere
Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher:
US - Dial Books, 288 Pages (March 9th, 2010)
UK - Walker Books, 320 Pages (This  version cover - February 5th, 2015)
Add to: Goodreads USA Version | Goodreads UK Version
Order online here:
USA: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The Book Depository
UK: Amazon UK, Waterstones, W H Smith, The Book Depository

Synopsis:
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life - and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey's boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie's own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they're the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can't collide without the whole wide world exploding.

This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie's struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

About the author:
Jandy Nelson, like her characters in I’ll Give You the Sun and The Sky is Everywhere, comes from a superstitious lot. She was tutored from a young age in the art of the four-leaf clover hunt; she knocks wood, throws salt, and carries charms in her pockets. Her critically-acclaimed, New York Times bestselling second novel, I’ll Give You the Sun, received the prestigious Printz Award, Bank Street's Josette Frank Award, and is a Stonewall Book Award honor. Both Sun and her debut, The Sky Is Everywhere, have been YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults picks (Sun, a Top Ten on Both YALSA and Rainbow Lists) and on multiple best of the year lists including the New York Times, Time Magazine, NPR, have earned many starred reviews, and continue to enjoy great international success, collectively published in over 47 countries. I'll Give You the Sun has been sold to Warner Brothers and screenwriter Natalie Krinsky is currently writing the adaptation. Jandy, a literary agent for many years, received a BA from Cornell University and MFAs in Poetry and Children's Writing from Brown University and Vermont College of Fine Arts. Currently a full-time writer, she lives and writes in San Francisco, California—not far from the settings of her novels. Visit Jandy at www.jandynelson.com. Follow her on twitter: @jandynelson or Facebook: Facebook.com/jandy.nelson. Author photo credit: Sonya Sones.

Find  Online: WebsiteTwitter | Facebook | Goodreads

Let the Wars Begin:
Its now time to make our decision, let's see what we think about the covers and pick our favorite cover.
Lisa
This is one of my FAVORITE BOOKS OF ALL TIME! I can't tell you how much I've loved this book since I first read it years ago. Jandy knows just how much I love it... she even printed out my review and carried it around for a long while. I was lucky enough to meet her last summer and she'll forever be a favorite of mine after this single book alone.

I have two different cover versions of this book. And how that I've seen a couple new ones, I'll be adding these to my collection as well. If I was to choose a favorite, it'd be one of the originals that you actually don't see here. It's an original one from the UK yet the original US cover is pretty beautiful in person too, so that's where my vote is going... the US cover. It's seriously beautiful! Oh and if you'd like to check out my review and don't forget to vote for YOUR favorite below!
Michelle
This is a hard choice for me this week. Looking at these covers next to each other they are both pretty in thier own way.

The cover for the USA one is simple, but is very effective in catching you eye. The UK one is simple as well, and very understated, but also makes you want to pick this one up too.

After some deliberation I am going to go for the UK cover as my vote this week, I have this one waiting to be read, and after hearing the design process for this and the book we have in a few weeks, I have to choose this one.

UK wins for me, don't forget to vote for your favourite below.

VOTE for YOUR favorite cover of The Sky is Everywhere NOW!






No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...