Monday, 20 July 2015

Book Wars! Uprooted by Naomi Novic (91)

Book Wars a weekly feature hosted between two book review blogs – A Life Bound By BooksMuch Loved Books!

It’s a fact that book lovers know all about the covers of the books they covet. Often when a title is released here in the UK, it’s sometimes vastly different across the pond in the US.So, Lisa from A Life Bound By Books and I have come together to create Book Wars to talk about the difference in covers when it comes to the US vs. UK versions. We hope from time to time authors will chime in with their thoughts as well. We welcome everyone to comment and share their thoughts too! The more the merrier!

Before we get to this weeks Book Wars, we have a winner to announce.The Book Wars winner for Nowhere But Here by Katie McGarry is...USA!!!!!!
Thank you to everyone who voted for both books, and for picking a winner.


Also, there's a poll at the bottom of the post that we'd love to hear your input for the two covers! Tell us which one YOU love the most. 

Left: US - Right: UK
Title: Uprooted
Author: Naomi Novik
Publisher:
US -Macmillan, 437 Pages, (May 21st, 2015),
UK - Del Ray, 438 Pages, (May 19th, 2015),
Add to Goodreads:USA Version | UK Version
Order online here:
USA:Amazon, Barnes and Noble, The Book Depository
UK:Amazon UKWaterstonesW H Smith, The Book Depository

Synopsis:
Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life.

Her people rely on the cold, ambitious wizard, known only as the Dragon, to keep the wood's powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman must be handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as being lost to the wood.

The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows - everyone knows - that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia - all the things Agnieszka isn't - and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her.

But no one can predict how or why the Dragon chooses a girl. And when he comes, it is not Kasia he will take with him.

From the author of the Temeraire series comes this hugely imaginative, engrossing and vivid fantasy novel, inspired by folk and fairy tales. It is perfect reading for fans of Robin Hobb and Trudi Canavan.

About the Author:
An avid reader of fantasy literature since age six, when she first made her way through The Lord of the Rings, Naomi Novik is also a history buff with a particular interest in the Napoleonic era and a fondness for the work of Patrick O’Brian and Jane Austen. She studied English literature at Brown University, and did graduate work in computer science at Columbia University before leaving to participate in the design and development of the computer game Neverwinter Nights: Shadow of Undrentide. Over the course of a brief winter sojourn spent working on the game in Edmonton, Canada (accompanied by a truly alarming coat that now lives brooding in the depths of her closet), she realized she preferred writing to programming, and on returning to New York, decided to try her hand at novels.

Naomi lives in New York City with her husband and six computers. Her website is at naominovik.com

Find Naomi Online:
Website | NewsTwitter| Facebook

Let the Wars Begin:
Its now time to make our decision, let's see what we think about the covers and pick our favourite cover.
Lisa
Hmmm, not sure where to start with either of these covers. It's so hard to choose a favorite when there's not much that is drawing me to either of them. I've seen the UK cover in person and I kind of like that one a bit more. The art work is pretty, just not what I'd think for a book cover.

The US cover... yeah, not a fan. It feels... kind of off to me. If I had to choose one thing I like about it, it'd be the tree in the bottom corner and how it's branches twist into the filigree work along the bottom.

So, I guess this weeks vote goes to the UK cover since overall I do like the art.

What are your thoughts on this weeks cover? Vote with one click below!
Michelle
This is such an easy vote for me today. When I first saw the USA cover I wasn't too impressed, and when the UK one was revealed I initially thought it was for a different book, but liked it anyway.

Looking at the covers  side by side it's even more clear to me that I much prefer the UK cover. The USA cover comes across as more medieval and less fantasy for me, it's not something that appeals to me or would make me want to pick the book up.  The UK however, for me it represents what I read of the book itself, the isolation of the village. The colouring and style of the cover to me represents the magical, fairytale-esque feel of the book.

It's a UK vote for me this week, don't forget to vote for your favourite below.

VOTE for YOUR favourite cover of Uprooted by Naomi Novik NOW!

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...