Wednesday, 9 December 2015

Review: The White Rose [The Lone City #2] by Amy Ewing


Title: The White Rose
Author: Amy Ewing
Author Info: Website|Blog|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Dystopia
Series: The Lone City #2
Source: Publisher
Publisher: Walker Books
Publication Date: 1st October 2015
Rating: 3 stars
Purchase: The Book Depository|Foyles

Tell Me About It
Perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Matched, this is the second book in the Lone City trilogy, following on from Amy Ewing's shocking and compelling debut novel, The Jewel.

Violet, Ash and Raven have escaped the palace of the Duchess of the Lake, but Regimentals are hunting for them across the city. Nowhere is safe, and they are dependent on Lucien and his secret society for survival. If they can reach the safety of the White Rose then Violet may be able to help Lucien in his plan to rescue more surrogates. For one surrogate, however, it is already too late. Violet's best friend, Raven, is pregnant. And in the Jewel, surrogates cannot survive giving birth.
My Thoughts
The White Rose is the second book in The Lone City series. When I initially read The Jewel I did have very mixed feelings about it, and the only thing that had me wanting more was the ending. It left me needing to know what was going to happen next, for Violet, Ash, and everyone involved.

The White Rose picks up after the events of The Jewel, so we are quickly shown the consequences of Violet and Ash's actions. The beginning of The White Rose is fast paced, and leaves you unsure over what is going to happen next. It keeps you guessing, but also wanting more, to dig deeper into all of the secrets and find out the truth behind it all.

On this perilous journey, this unexpected company find themselves aided by the mysterious members of the Black Key, and avoid capture by the skin of their teeth. I really liked how the most unexpected people helped Violet, Ash, and Raven escape. The title of this book is aptly named too. When I began reading I didn't really see how the title connected with the story, but when the White Rose is revealed, along with its surprises, I was both excited and wary.

Sil is a fellow surrogate, who helps Violet learn how to use the Augeries as they were meant to be used, and I did initially dislike her for the things she says and for what she does to Violet, but as her story progressed I did slowly learn to like her. While I don't like her methods, they really do get the job done on more than one occasion.

The ending of The White Rose leaves us on another cliffhanger, and it was one I didn't expect but one I also want to be stopped. I have really enjoyed seeing the characters develop as an individual, but also in their own abilities and confidence in themselves. I loved how it was fast paced, full of risk and action, but also explained a lot of the history behind The Jewel and the Augeries. I am really looking forward to seeing how this is expanded on in the next instalment.

Final Verdict
Although The White Rose didn't blow me away, I found myself really getting into the story and enjoying this one a lot more than it's predecessor. I can't wait to see what happens next for certain characters, and I really want the plan to come into action sooner than expected to stop what is going to happen.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...