Tuesday, 31 May 2016

Book Review: Girl Out of Water by Nat Luurtsema


Title: Girl Out of Water
Author: Nat Luurtsema
Author Info: Website|Twitter
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary
Source: Publisher
Publisher: Walker Books
Publication Date: 2nd June 2016
Rating: 5 stars

Tell Me About It
A thoroughly British teen comedy starring a hilariously flawed heroine with a quip for every occasion - perfect for fans of Holly Smale, Rae Earl and Jenny MacLachlan. Lou Brown's life is going down the pan. Best friend Hannah sailed through the Olympic time trials and is off to her fancy-pants new swim training school, while Lou's own failure to qualify leaves her without a hobby - or a friend. As Lou tries to navigate her post-swim world, a chance encounter with three boys with stars in their eyes takes her life in a surprising new direction. One that leads to a crazy world of underwater somersaults, talent show auditions, bitchy girls and one great big load of awkward boy chat.
My Thoughts
Girl Out of Water has been on my hit list since I first heard the author read an excerpt from it at a blogger event last year so you can imagine my excitement when this book finally arrived in the post. I dropped everything to read it, and this review has been sitting for weeks waiting to be published. I could not even think about putting off the reading to a later date.

Lou and her friend try out for a High Performance Training Camp, which is the stepping stones to getting into Team GB. However, Lou doesn't quite make the cut, and she finds herself at a loss, no best friend in school, and large amounts of free time in her hands. All her hours spent training wasted.
I sometimes used to wonder what I was missing as I pounded out the lengths in the pool. Now I know: NOTHING.
At a loss and missing the water, Lou finds herself spending time at the pool, and bumps into an unlikely trio, Pete, Gabriel, and Roman. who want to try out for Britain's Hidden Talent, after they were rejected on thier first attempt, they want Lou to coach them in a different form of dance.

Girl Out of Water was an hilarious read, and I devoured every single page. I loved seeing Lou change through the book, from a swimmer, to a girl, and all the troubles that come with it, including boys. Her crazy family and sister try thier best but mostly just annoy her. I have honestly not laughed so much as I did reading this book, and I did not want it to end. The antics that Lou and the boys get up to are unbelievable, and do lead to disastrous events, but you really can't help but laugh.

I don't want to say too much about Girl Out of Water as I'm trying not to spoil it for you, and I want you to see how it all ends. I want you to take this journey with Lou, and follow the ups, downs, and everything in between with her. I want you to love Lou just as much as I did, and then demand more.

Final Verdict
Girl Out of Water is a laugh out loud read, it's like my favourite books were thrown into a blender, and Girl Out of Water is the baby. It's perfect for fans of Geek Girl and The It Girl.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...