Tuesday, 15 November 2016

Book Review: Shockwave [Urban Outlaws #5] by Peter Jay Black


Title: Shockwave
Author: Peter Jay Black
Author Info: Website|Outlaws Bunker|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Action, Young Adult
Series: Urban Outlaws #5
Source: Publisher
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's
Publication Date: 3rd November 2016
Rating: 5 stars

Tell Me About It
The Urban Outlaws have been infected! Hector Del Sarto used them to spread the deadly Medusa virus and now the whole of London is in lockdown. Only Hector and his father have the antidote. Can Jack, Charlie, Obi, Slink and Wren work together to bring down the Del Sartos once and for all? The whole city depends on them!

The Urban Outlaws face their toughest challenge yet in the final book of this high-octane adventure series for fans of Robert Muchamore, Anthony Horowitz and Alex Scarrow.
My Thoughts
Going into this book I was a bundle of feelings. Excited to join the Outlaws on another adventure, nervous to see how it would all play out, but mostly sad. This is the end of an era and I didn't want this series to end.

Shockwave picks up immediately after the explosive ending of Counterstrike, and we join the Outlaws as they try to escape from Hectors men. However, one of thier team is captured, and the gang do all they can to rescue Obi, even if it means enlisting the help of Talya and her goons.

Shockwave is a book that I'm struggling to write a review for. I still can't believe that this is the end, and trying to put down my thoughts is harder than I thought it would be, therefore it's more vague than usual. Shockwave is a book that surprised me. The twists and turn kept me guessing over what was going to happen to the Outlaws and thier friends. Would a cure for the Medusa virus be found in time to save the lives of the Outlaws?

The Outlaws have never been pushed to the limit this far before, and my heart broke for them, to see thier determination to stop Hector and his Father, to see them brought to justice, all whilst sacrificing thier own lives, never knowing if they would survive to see the next day. I loved getting to see how resourceful they are when all of thier gadgets are gone, and seeing old friends work alongside them to complete tasks and escape the law.

The stakes are high and the mission is tougher, it involves a lot more sneaking and tricking which could backfire at any moment. The Outlaws must use all of thier skill, and tricks, and cunning to survive.

Final Verdict
The Urban Outlaws is a series I have loved from the very first book, and Shockwave ends it in the ultimate battle of wills and lives. I devoured this book in one day, and could quite happily have read more. I will miss the Outlaws and their next adventure, but I am excited to see what the author has up his sleeve next.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...