Monday, 12 December 2016

Book Review: The Black Key [The Lone City #3] by Amy Ewing


Title: The Black Key
Author: Amy Ewing
Author Info: Website|Blog|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Fantasy, Dystopia, Young Adult
Series: The Lone City #3
Source: Publisher
Publisher: Walker Books
Publication Date: 6th October 2016
Rating: 4 stars

Tell Me About It
The third book in Amy Ewing's New York Times bestselling Lone City trilogy, The Black Key is perfect for fans of The Selection and Red Queen.

Violet and the Society of the Black Key are preparing to launch an attack on the royalty, and Violet has a crucial role to play. She must lead the surrogates as they infiltrate the Auction and break down the walls of the Lone City. But with her sister, Hazel, imprisoned in the palace of the Lake, Violet is torn. In order to save her sister, she must abandon her cause and her friends and return to the Jewel.
My Thoughts
This review was always going to be the hardest to write, but aren't all end of series reviews. How do I really share my feelings about the book without giving away spoilers about key plot events in the book.

We pick up the book at The White Rose, where plans are being made to infiltrate the city, rescuing all surrogates being sent to the Jewel. By showing them how to access the elements and how to use them to help the Society of the Black Key, Violet and her friends will have a small army to themselves, able to take down royalty once and for all. But Violet is still reeling over the kidnapping of her sister Hazel, and no matter what plans she makes, her most important one is to get Hazel out alive.

The Black Key is a book in this series that I really enjoyed the most. I loved getting to see all the different components click into place, how they work to set things in motion, and most importantly, getting to see all the surrogates use their elemental powers. The Black Key had so much more packed into the pages. We see friendships grow and form, we see the truth behind the scenes and get a first hand look at some hidden secrets. With Violet we see the real people, how the feel and what they want. We see oppression, and cruelty, deceit, but among that we see love and that not all royalty is selfish.

The characters within the pages of The Black Key are ones we know and love. We get to see a few familiar faces, and get to know others more, with one of them really surprising me. But we all know there is no war without death, and sadly we do say goodbye to some friends. I did like how people followed Violet, believing in her strength and determination even when she didn't herself.

Final Verdict
The Black Key was a book I really enjoyed, but also didn't want to end. I loved getting to sped time in this world again and I'm pretty sad its all over. The only thing I would ask to change is maybe an epilogue, so we see what happens after it's all over.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...