Thursday, 22 March 2012

Review: Faery Tales & Nightmares by Melissa Marr

Title: Faery Tales & Nightmares
Author: Melissa Marr
Author Info: Website|Blog|Twitter|Facebook
Genre: Young Adult
Source: Publisher
Format: Paperback
Publication Date: USA:Feb 21st 2012|UK:1st Mar 2012
Tell Me About It
Faery Tales and Nightmares is a collection of short stories.

Current Table of Contents:
"Where Nightmares Walk"
"Winter's Kiss" (Fairy Tales)
"Transition" (Vampires)
"Love Struck" (Selchies)
"Stopping Time" (WL World)
"Old Habits" (WL World)
"The Art of Waiting"
"Flesh for Comfort"
"The Sleeping Girl and the Sumer King" (WL World-ish, the short story that started the series)
"Cotton Candy Skies" (WL World)
"Unexpected Family" (WL World)
"Merely Mortal" (WL World)

[from goodreads]

My Thoughts
I loved Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely series so when the chance came to get a copy of Faery Tales & Nightmares I jumped at the chance.  Faery Tales & Nightmares is an anthology with stories from the Wicked Lovely series, and some new stories that we haven't seen before, and although there are twelve stories in the book it was a quick read.  Some of the stories are only a few pages long, while others are slightly longer, or split into chapters of their own.
I really enjoyed getting to re-visit the Wicked Lovely world again and it made me realise how much I miss this world so at some point this year when I have tackled my TBR pile I plan to re-read the series.  There were a few stories that stood out from all the rest.

Winter Kiss: This story is about a Princess who has the Kiss of Winter, and everytime she breaths, laughs and talks she freezes things.  During the warmer months she is put into a tower away from everyone else so she can't accidentally freeze things.  Bored and unhappy with this life she leaves the kingdom on search of somewhere where she can be with others.  Along the journey she meets a bear, who helps her find food and keeps here warm.  The bear takes her to a small village and transforms into a boy called Bjarn.

Stopping Time: This story is based in the Wicked Lovely world and follows Leslie after she has moved away from Huntsdale.  Irial and Niall also have main roles in this story and we get to see how Leslie is coping after getting away from the faerie world, and how Irial and Niall are coping without her.  Both are trying to keep their distance and let her live a normal life but it's not as easy as they think and soon this constant presence is a blessing in disguise.

Anyone who has read any of Melissa's books need to get a copy of this, and if like me you loved Wicked Lovely, it will make you want to re-read the series again.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...