Tuesday, 15 December 2015

Review: Four: A Divergent Story Collection [Divergent 0.1-0.4] by Veronica Roth

Title: Four: A Divergent Story Collection
Author: Veronica Roth
Author Info: Blog|Twitter
Genre: Fiction, Dystopian
Series: Divergent #0.1-0.4
Source: Purchased
Publisher: HarperCollins Children's Books
Publication Date: 8th July 2014
Rating: 3 stars

Tell Me About It
Fans of the Divergent series by No. 1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth will be thrilled by this collection of short stories told from Four’s perspective!

DIVERGENT – a major motion picture in 2014.

This collection of short stories explores the world of the Divergent series through the eyes of the mysterious but charismatic Tobias Eaton, revealing previously unknown secrets of his personality and intriguing backstory.

See how it all began for Four…

Features the following stories: ‘The Transfer’, ‘The Initiate’, ‘The Son’, ‘The Traitor’ plus the knife-throwing scene known as ‘Free Four’ .
My Thoughts
I picked up Four: A Divergent Story Collection a while after publication. I have read the first two books in this series and really enjoyed them. I still have Allegiant waiting to be read, and this would have a similar fate only I needed to read a few more books in the hopes of completing my goodreads goal. Below are a few mini reviews for the four books in this collection.

The Transfer
This is the beginning of Tobias's story. How he goes from Tobias to four. From Abnegation to Dauntless. We see how his family life was, how cruel his father was, and how he made life bearable for himself. We see why he makes the choices he does, and they aren't easy, and also his first day or two in Dauntless.

The Initiate
This short story is about the tests, the training, and the fighting that Four goes through in order to make the cut, and be Dauntless. We also get to see the rivalry between him and Eric, how it all started and where it came from.

The Son
This story involves his Mum, who wants him to become factionless. He is angry and upset at the lies he has been told whilst growing up and is confused over what he wants to do with his Mum's requests. Four also gets given a job, but after a day or two gives it up when he finds out what it's really for.

The Traitor
This one involves Tris, how Four helps her, how he tries to help others and save lives. We get to see what is really happening behind the scenes between Four and Eric. I liked seeing Tris in this one and seeing fours side of the story that we only got to see through her eyes.

Final Verdict
Overall Four: A Divergent Story Collection was an enjoyable read and helped fill in a few gaps, but I am glad I waited for them to be released together, rather than buy them individually. It also makes me want to tackle Allegiant even more now.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...