Monday, 28 March 2016

Book Review: Midnight Bites [Morganville Vampires] by Rachel Caine

Title: Midnight Bites
Author: Rachel Caine
Author Info: Website|Facebook|Twitter
Genre: Paranormal, Young Adult
Series: The Morganville Vampires
Source: Publisher
Publisher: Allison & Busby
Publication Date: 1st March 2016
Rating: 4 stars

Tell Me About It
MIDNIGHT BITES, the new Morganville Vampires short story anthology! It will bring together almost everything that I've written in short form about Morganville ... though I did leave out some of the original "diary" entries that appeared on an earlier version of the Morganville website, simply because they were just scenes and not stories, and were generally really short snippets. This is all short fiction, and it's been carefully organized into the timeline, so you can read from the earliest adventures (some of which belong to vampires) all the way through some post-Daylighters goodies.

MIDNIGHT BITES includes a total of more than 50,000 words of brand new content, which makes me very happy indeed (and I hope will also make you happy, too). From stories featuring our favorite bunny-slipper-wearing mad scientist to a mystery solved by police chief Hannah Moses, I think you'll find this is a diverse group of stories that will shine a little more light in the murkiest corners of Morganville.
My Thoughts
Midnight Bites is a collection of short stories from the Morganville Vampires series. Some of these stories were added with permission form the Kickstarter backers for Red Hot Rain, some of them have been previously released in anthologies or other Morganville books. Midnight Bites is the first time these stories have all been collected into one book.

Midnight Bites was a book I wanted to take my time with, enjoying each story rather than racing through the pages, hence why my review is much later than publication date. Below are small reviews for some of my favourite books out of the series.

Nothing Like and Angel
We start with Myrnin locked in a dungeon. He is rescued by Lady Grey, who brings him back to health, and stays when he leaves. Myrnin has several adventures and ends up finding himself trapped again. Nothing Like an Angel gives us a glimpse into their relationship that has stood the test of time, and explains why Myrnin likes her so much.

Sam's Story
This is an introduction to Sam. It tells us about his marriage and his child, the death of his wife, and how he ended up with the Glass House. We see the beginnings of his relationship with Amelie and how it played a part in his death.

This is the story of Shane's sister, Alyssa. The story of how she died and is from Shane's point of view. We see what happened and why he feels so guilty and angry about it all.

New Blood
This is told from Eve and Michael's point of view of the events before and after the fire. We also see what happens after it's all over, and learn more about the blood drive.

The First Day of the Rest of Your Life
It's Eve's 18th birthday and she has an important choice to make. Whether to sign for protection or not. We see her troubled relationship with her family, and what her choice means to them. We also see how she ended up at the Glass House.

Wrong Place, Wrong Time
This is a very quick story told by Richard Morrell. An attempted robbery has gone awry with Monica involved. Justice is quick and deadly to the offenders.

Drama Queens Last Dance
This is another story from Eve. There is a new visitor in town, Gloriana, and she is an old friend of Oliver, and by old I mean DEAD old. She has her eyes set on Michael and tries to get him in her clutches, but she doesn't count on Eves feisty attitude to get in the way.

Final Verdict
Midnight Bites was a great read, and I really enjoyed getting to revisit this series and read some new stories from the characters. This is a must have addition to fans of the series.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for taking a few moments to comment.
Comments mean love and make the world go round so don't be shy :)

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...